Scioto County Agriculture Dinner

Tuesday, August 27, 2019 6:00 - 9:00 PM

Celebrations and Honors at the Agriculture Dinner


With record attendance this year, the Scioto Soil and Water Conservation District and the Scioto County Farm Bureau hosted the 2019 Scioto County Agriculture Dinner on August 28th. This was the second year for this event, which was created in partnership to combine several of the traditional agriculture related dinners held locally.  The event was attend by over 175 people and the food was provided by local bbq sensations Backwoods BBQ. 

The event served as both hosting organizations’ annual meetings and many area FFA, or Future Farmers of America, clubs were on hand to help with the event including serving the dinner to guests.  The Farm Bureau and Conservation District showcased their work in the communities and presented several awards throughout the night. 

Scioto County Farm Bureau presented awards to each of the Showman of Showmen winners for each category that competed at the Scioto County Fair.  They also recognized the service of two board members that are leaving the board, Bridgette Compton and Chad Fannin. Additionally, the Scioto County Farm Bureau honored current board members Angie Lewis and Greg Williams for achieving the coveted Murray Lincoln award for signing fifty or more members this year.

The Scioto County Soil and Water Conservation District awarded Conservation Cooperator of the Year award to Ron and Sue LeBrun of LeBrun Farms for their cooperation and commitment to conservation through successful implementation of multiple conservation farming practices to their cattle farm in the Minford area.  The Conservation District also presented awards for Farmwoman of the Year to Barb Arnold and the Mel Smith Friend of Conservation Award was presented to Camp Oyo’s Matt Taylor for his excellent partnership. 

Among the highlights of the night was the Bicentennial Farm award that was presented by Tim Derickson, the assistant director of the Ohio Department of Agriculture to Mr. and Mrs. Marvin Wiehle for their stewardship of the Wiehle Family Farm.  This award is the second of its kind in Scioto County and is given to farms that have been in agriculture production and in the same family for over 200 years. 

The capstone of the night was the long standing tradition of the Farmer of the Year award presented by Ed Newsome of the Portsmouth Area Chamber of Commerce.  This awardee is chosen each year to be honored by the local farming community.  This year’s award was presented to Matt Lewis.

© 2019 by Scioto Soil and Water Conservation District. Proudly created with

12167 State Route 104
Lucasville, Ohio 45648